Dental Twittering

06/01/2009

An interesting thing happened to me last week.  I was emailing a colleague during a snack break when a post showed on my  ‘in’ box.  I had been forwarded a plea about someone seeking help for a serious toothache.  The woman didn’t have a regular dentist, and was afraid to call a dentist with whom she was not familiar.

She had the idea to Twitter her fellow Twitter acquaintances.  (Are they called Twits? I am not quite “hep” on the Twitter phenom.)  Anyway, one of her contacts referred her to my office with the assurance that I would take good care of her.  That I read her message within seconds of her posting was extraordinary. I called her immediately and arranged for a visit that afternoon.

It worked out well because she indeed had a true emergency and I was able to help.  What an amazing world we live in! I did not really know that Twitter worked in the way that it does.  That day it certainly did well for us both.  I look forward to more of these encounters.

Leave a Reply

